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Overview

The Nebraska Tire Fee of $1 is due on the following tires:

	 ❖	 Retail sales of qualified tires sold and delivered in Nebraska;

	 ❖	 Every tire included with a new motor vehicle registered in Nebraska; and

	 ❖	 Every qualified tire a motor vehicle dealer places on a previously-owned motor vehicle 
registered in Nebraska.

Any retailer making sales of qualified tires in Nebraska must obtain a Nebraska Tire Fee Permit 
and collect and remit the Nebraska Tire Fee, unless a specific exemption applies.

1-103-1992 Rev. 10-2020 Supersedes 1-103-1992 Rev. 4-2020
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Information Guide
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This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue (DOR) until amended. A guidance document does not include internal procedural 
documents that only affect the internal operations of DOR and does not impose additional 
requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules 
and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe 
that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated 
parties, you may request a review of the document.
This guidance document may change with updated information or added examples. 
DOR recommends you do not print this document. Instead, sign up for the  
subscription service at revenue.nebraska.gov to get updates on your topics of interest.

Terms
Motor Vehicle. A motor vehicle is any motor vehicle, motorcycle, trailer, or semitrailer required to be 
registered for operation on the roads and highways of this state.

Non-qualified Tire. A non-qualified tire is any recapped or regrooved tire or any tire for vehicles other than 
motor vehicles, motorcycles, trailers, semitrailers, and farm tractors (for example: bicycles, golf carts, and 
all terrain vehicles). 

Qualified Tire. A qualified tire is any new pneumatic (air or gas-filled) or solid tire made of rubber or other 
resilient materials that could be used on a motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or farm tractor.  

Tire Fee. The tire fee is $1 per new qualified tire. This fee is in addition to any federal tax and any 
Nebraska and local sales tax.

The tire fee must be collected on:

 	 ❖ 	 Each tire of every new motor vehicle registered in Nebraska; and

	 ❖ 	 Every retail sale of a new qualified tire where possession is taken in Nebraska, including every new 
replacement farm tractor tire.

https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/NEREV/subscriber/new
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Collecting and Remitting the Tire Fee
County Treasurers. The county treasurer, or designated county official, must collect the tire fee at the 
time of registration of a motor vehicle regardless of the location of the sale. The county must remit the 
tire fee on the Nebraska Tire Fee Return, Form 9B.

Example 1. A car dealer in Iowa sells a new car to a resident of Nebraska. The Nebraska resident 
will pay the Nebraska Tire Fee at the time of registration in Nebraska.

Farm Implement Dealers. Retailers of new farm tractors and other farm implements are not required to 
collect the tire fee on retail sales of new farm tractors and other farm implements. However, retail sales of 
new replacement tires for farm tractors sold and delivered in Nebraska are subject to the tire fee. 

Example 2. A farm implement dealer sells new farm tractors and other types of farm equipment. 
The farm implement dealer is not required to collect the $1 tire fee on each new tire sold with a 
farm tractor or other farm equipment. The farm tractor or other farm equipment is not a motor 
vehicle.  
Example 3. Farm implement dealers and other retailers who sell and deliver new replacement tires 
in Nebraska for a farm tractor must collect the $1 tire fee on each new tire.   

Motor Vehicle Dealers. Motor vehicle dealers must report the total number of new tires on new motor 
vehicles including the spare and new tires placed on previously-owned motor vehicles, on the Nebraska 
Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales, Form 6. A new motor vehicle is 
one which still has the manufacturer’s statement of origin.
When a sale of a motor vehicle occurs between two individuals, no tire fee is due at the time the vehicle is 
registered in Nebraska.

Example 4. A car dealer sells a new car. When completing the Form 6, the dealer must indicate 
five tires on line 8 (four tires, plus the spare). The county treasurer collects the $5 tire fee when the 
new car is registered. The entry on line 8 of Form 6 is illustrated below:

7 Purchase by a person with a disability with funds contributed by the U.S. Department 
of Veterans Affairs or the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
Finance and Support. Enter amount of contribution: $ _________________. See 
instructions for “Purchase of a Motor Vehicle by a Person with a Disability.”

8 Purchase by a governmental entity not engaged in the business of furnishing gas, 
water, electricity, or heat.

9 Vehicle is the subject of an intercompany sale between parent, subsidiary, or 
brother-sister companies. Sales tax was paid by the seller company on its purchase
of this vehicle. (Documentation required.)

10 Vehicle is a gift or received by inheritance and tax was previously paid by the 
donor. A gift is a voluntary transfer without any consideration. The donor paid the 
tax on the previous transfer. If the person accepting the motor vehicle or trailer 
as a gift or inheritance assumes a lien, mortgage, or encumbrance, the amount 
owing shall be subject to sales and use tax. (Documentation required.)

11 Transfer of the vehicle during the creation, reorganization, or dissolution of 
a corporation, limited liability company, or partnership solely for voting stock 
membership interest or partnership interest.Also, transfer of a vehicle as additional 
capital to an ongoing corporation. (Documentation required.)

12 Purchase of a 30-day plate by a nonresident of Nebraska who does not intend to 
remain in Nebraska more than 30 days from the date of purchase.

Form

6
Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement

for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales
Purchaser’s Name and Address Seller’s Name and Address

Purchased Vehicle/Trailer Description

Trade-in Vehicle/Trailer Description

Tax Computation — See Instructions
1 Total sales price ................................................................................................................................................ 1 
2 Less trade-in allowance .................................................................................................................................... 2
3 Less manufacturer’s rebate assigned to dealer at time of sale ......................................................................... 3
4 Tax base (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3) (if zero or less, enter -0-) ....................................................................... 4 
5 Nebraska sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) ..............................................  5
6 Local sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate) .....................................................  6
7 Total Nebraska and local sales or use tax due (line 5 plus line 6)  ................................................................... 7 
8 Tire fee (Number of new tires ______ multiplied by $1) ................................................................................... 8
9 Penalty for late payment ................................................................................................................................... 9

 10 Interest for late payment ................................................................................................................................... 10
11 Balance due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10) ........................................................................................................ 11 

$_____________________
Tax Paid

 ______________________
Date Paid

sign
here Signature of Seller Signature of Purchaser or Agent of Purchaser Date 

Any purchaser or agent who completes this exemption certificate for any purchase which is not exempt under the Nebraska Revenue Act, as amended, will 
in addition to any tax, interest, or penalty otherwise imposed, be subject to a penalty of $100 or ten times the tax, whichever amount is larger. Under penalties 
of law, I declare that I have examined this certificate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is correct and complete.

sign
here Signature of Person Claiming Exemption Date

For County Use Only

Type of Exemption

If exempt category 1 through 7 is claimed, requested information must be entered. Only categories 5 and 12 are exempt from the tire fee.
Type of Exemption

1 Purchase by an exempt organization holding a Certificate of Exemption issued 
by the Nebraska Department of Revenue.

Number 05 – ______________________

2 Vehicle will be used in a common or contract carrier capacity and the purchaser 
shown on the face of this form holds a current Certificate of Exemption issued by 
the Nebraska Department of Revenue. Number 05 –_____________________

3 Purchase by a lessor of motor vehicles. Sales tax on the fair market lease payments 
to be remitted under Nebraska Sales Tax Permit.

Lessor’s Sales Tax Number 01– ______________________

4 Purchase under the Lessor’s Option and the motor vehicle will be leased to a 
common or contract carrier who holds a valid Nebraska Certificate of Exemption 
Number 05-______________________. 

Lessor must attach a copy of approved Nebraska Application for Election 
of Lessors to Pay Sales and Use Tax on Cost of Motor Vehicles, Form 15.

5 Purchase by a Native American Indian residing on a Nebraska reservation and 
the vehicle is registered at a location within the boundaries of the reservation.

Tax Exemption ID Card Number: ________________________

6 Vehicle was purchased, licensed, and operated in a state other than Nebraska.

Identify state: _____________________________  (Documentation required.)

 Name  Name

 Street or Other Address Street or Other Address

 City State Zip Code City State Zip Code

 Make Body Type Year Vehicle ID Number (VIN) Date of Purchase

 Make Body Type Year Vehicle ID Number (VIN) License Plate Number Was the trade-in vehicle being leased?
Yes No

If Yes, enter -0- on line 2. 

Any dealer or seller who willfully prepares a false or fraudulent Nebraska Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement may be found guilty of a Class IV felony 
and will, upon conviction, be fined not more than $10,000, or be imprisoned not more than five years or both. Under penalties of law, I declare that I have 
examined this statement and it is correct and complete.

6-004-1967 Rev. 1-2017 Supersedes 6-004-1967 Rev. 7-2014

County — White Copy Nebraska Department of Revenue — Green Copy Purchaser — Blue Copy Seller — Pink Copy

Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales

Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509-4818

5 005

https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_9b.pdf
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_6.pdf
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_6.pdf
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Tax Computation — See Instructions
	 1	 Total sales price................................................................................................................................................. 	 1 .
	 2	 Less trade-in allowance..................................................................................................................................... 	 2
	 3	 Less manufacturer’s rebate assigned to dealer at time of sale.......................................................................... 	 3
	 4	 Tax base (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3) (if zero or less, enter -0-)........................................................................ 	 4 .
	 5	 Nebraska sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate)............................................... 	 5
	 6	 Local sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate)...................................................... 	 6
	 7	 Total Nebraska and local sales or use tax due (line 5 plus line 6) .................................................................... 	 7 .
	 8	 Tire fee (Number of new tires ______ multiplied by $1) ................................................................................... 	 8
	 9	 Penalty for late payment.................................................................................................................................... 	 9
	 10	 Interest for late payment.................................................................................................................................... 	 10
	 11	 Balance due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10)......................................................................................................... 	 11 .

0 0  00

Example 5. A car dealer sells a used car after placing two new tires on it. The tire fee has not been 
paid on the new tires, because the car dealer purchased the tires for resale by issuing a properly 
completed Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13, Section A, to the seller. When 
completing the Form 6, the dealer must show two tires subject to the tire fee. The county treasurer 
collects the $2 tire fee when the car is registered. The entry on line 8 of Form 6 is illustrated below.

There is No Exemption for Nonprofit Organizations, Educational Institutions, State and Local 
Governmental Agencies/Units, and Common or Contract Carriers. Unlike the Nebraska sales and use 
taxes, which allows for sales tax exemptions to many types of entities, there are no exemptions from the 
tire fee for tire purchases by the state or a local government, a sales tax-exempt nonprofit organization, 
educational institution, or a common carrier. There are limited exemptions, as shown in the “Tire Fee 
Exemptions” section below.

Example 7. The Nebraska Department of Education (DOE) purchases four new qualified tires. As an 
agency of the State of Nebraska, the DOE supplies a Form 13, Section B, and is exempt from sales tax, 
but the tire fee is still due and is not refundable. A sample invoice looks like this:

ABC Tire Co.	 Invoice No. 0000

Sold to:	 Nebraska DOE
	 Lincoln, NE 68509

	 4 tires @ $99.95	 $399.80
	 Sales tax	 .00
	 Tire fee-4 tires @ $1.00	 4.00
	 Total due	 $403.80

Example 6. An individual places two new tires on a car, and then sells the car. The number of tires 
indicated on Form 6 is zero because the individual paid the tire fee when the tires were purchased 
from the retailer. The entry on line 8 of Form 6 is illustrated below.

Tax Computation — See Instructions
	 1	 Total sales price................................................................................................................................................. 	 1 .
	 2	 Less trade-in allowance..................................................................................................................................... 	 2
	 3	 Less manufacturer’s rebate assigned to dealer at time of sale.......................................................................... 	 3
	 4	 Tax base (line 1 minus lines 2 and 3) (if zero or less, enter -0-)........................................................................ 	 4 .
	 5	 Nebraska sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate)............................................... 	 5
	 6	 Local sales or use tax (line 4 multiplied by rate)...................................................... 	 6
	 7	 Total Nebraska and local sales or use tax due (line 5 plus line 6) .................................................................... 	 7 .
	 8	 Tire fee (Number of new tires ______ multiplied by $1).................................................................................... 	 8
	 9	 Penalty for late payment.................................................................................................................................... 	 9
	 10	 Interest for late payment.................................................................................................................................... 	 10
	 11	 Balance due (total of lines 7, 8, 9, and 10)......................................................................................................... 	 11 .

2 2  00

https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_13.pdf
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Retailers. Retailers selling new tires for motor vehicles and farm tractors to customers in Nebraska 
are responsible for collecting the tire fee from the customer and remitting it to DOR unless a specific 
exemption applies (see the “Tire Fee Exemptions” section).
The tire fee must be separately stated from the sales tax. If it is not separately stated, the tire fee is 
considered part of the sales price and is subject to sales tax.
Charges for disposing of tires, filters, and any other environmental fees paid to the tire retailer are subject 
to the Nebraska and local sales tax because the charges are part of the “gross receipts” for selling the 
new tire. A sample invoice is shown in the following example:
	 Example 9. A retailer sells a tire to a customer and completes an accurate invoice that looks like this:

Tire Fee Exemptions
The tire fee does not apply when a qualified tire is sold:

1	 For resale purposes (the purchaser must issue a properly completed Form 13, Section A);
2	 For delivery to another state;
3	 To the federal government or its agencies. Reg-1-072 , United States Government and Federal 

Corporations, lists agencies of the federal government which are exempt from sales tax. These 
same governmental agencies and entities are exempt from the tire fee; or

4	 To Native Americans in Indian country in Nebraska when title and possession are taken within the 
boundaries of Indian country in Nebraska.

Example 8. The sale of a qualified tire to a licensed Nebraska common or contract carrier is 
not subject to Nebraska sales or use taxes when the seller receives a Form 13 from the buyer. 
However, the sale of the qualified tire is still subject to the Nebraska Tire Fee. A sample invoice 
looks like this:

ABC Tire Co.	 Invoice No. 2000

Sold to:	 XYZ Trucking Company
	 Lincoln, NE 68508

	 4 tires @ $275	 $1,100.00
	 Sales tax	 .00
	 Tire fee-4 tires @ $1.00	 4.00
	 Total due	 $1,104.00

ABC Tire Co.	 Invoice No. 2050

Sold to:	 XY Trucking Company
	 Omaha, NE 68102

	 1 Tire	 $99.95
	 Disposal fee	 5.00
	  Subtotal	 $104.95
	 Nebraska sales tax @ 5.5%	 5.77
	 City sales tax @ 1.5%	 1.57
	 Tire fee -1 tire @ $1.00	 1.00
	 Total due	 $113.29

https://revenue.nebraska.gov/sites/revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/legal/regs/1-072.pdf
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_13.pdf
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 revenue.nebraska.gov
800-742-7474 (NE and IA), or 402-471-5729

Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, NE 68509-4818

General Information
Obtaining A Permit. To obtain a Nebraska Tire Fee Permit, you must register your new business online 
at revenue.nebraska.gov/businesses/register-your-new-business-online or complete a Nebraska Tax 
Application, Form 20. Unlike sales tax, only one permit is required regardless of the number of business 
locations under one ownership. 

Filing Returns. The Nebraska Tire Fee is remitted on the Nebraska Tire Fee Return, Form 93. The return is 
due on or before the 25th of the month following the tax period covered by the Form 93 return. The filing 
frequency is monthly, quarterly, or annually depending on the number of new tires sold. A preidentified 
return will be mailed to all permit holders for each period for which a return is required. A Form 93 must be 
filed, even if there is no fee due.

Filing Frequency. The filing frequency is determined by the number of new tires sold annually. 

❖ 	 3,000 or more tires - returns are filed monthly;

❖	 900 to 2,999 tires - returns are filed quarterly; or 

❖	 Less than 900 tires - returns are filed annually.

Penalty and Interest. If the return is not filed and paid by the due date, a penalty will be assessed in the 
amount of 10% of the tax due or $25, whichever is greater. Interest on the unpaid tax will be assessed at 
the rate printed on line 7 from the due date until payment is received. 

Tire Fee Records. As with all business operations, it is important that current, complete, and accurate 
records of tire and motor vehicle sales be kept. For Nebraska tire fee purposes, all records should include 
the following information and documents:

❖	 Invoices of sales of new tires and new or used motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers;

❖	 Exempt sales allowed by law; and

❖	 Nebraska Resale or Exempt Sale Certificate, Form 13. 

Keep tire records for the current year of business and at least three prior years. 

Purpose and Use of Tire Fee Proceeds
The Nebraska tire fee is collected by DOR and remitted to the State Treasurer for credit to the Waste 
Reduction and Recycling Incentive Fund. The proceeds are available through cost-sharing grants to be 
used by individuals or businesses who manufacture tire-derived products, process scrap tires, or use 
scrap tires for specified civil engineering projects.  

The grants may be requested by application to the Department of Environment and Energy. To obtain a 
grant application form, call 402-471-2186 or toll-free 877-253-2603.

Resource List
Nebraska Revised Statute:

❖	 Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-15,162, Tire Fee

https://revenue.nebraska.gov/businesses/register-your-new-business-online
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_20.pdf
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_20.pdf
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/sites/revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_93.pdf
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/files/doc/tax-forms/f_13.pdf
http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-15,162

