
Income Tax
If not assessed, a claim must be filed
within 3 years of the original return or
within 2 years of the payment.
If assessed, the taxpayer cannot file
a claim.
A taxpayer who filed an income tax
claim may file a claim in district court
for recovery of the amount paid.

Sales Tax
If not assessed, a claim must be filed
within 3 years of the due date.
If assessed, a claim must be filed within
6 months of payment of the tax or final
determination.
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(petition) must be filed
generally within

60 days of notice.

FINAL
after petition filing
deadline passes*

An informal conference
may be held with

Department attorneys.

The Tax Commissioner
appoints a hearing officer .
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recommended order are forwarded
from the hearing officer to the

Tax Commissioner.

Income Tax
The Department must
make a decision within
6 months or the claim

is deemed denied.

Sales Tax
The Department must
make a decision within
180 days or the claim is

deemed granted.

FINAL -
A refund
is issued.

District Court
An appeal must be filed within 30 days
of the notice of denial, order, or
determination.
The review is de novo on the record
established at the Department.
The appeal must be filed in Lancaster
County District Court; except an income
tax refund may be filed in the district
court of the residence of taxpayer.

Nebraska Court of Appeals
An appeal must be filed within
30 days of the district court order.
The review is for error on the record.

Nebraska Supreme Court**
An appeal must be filed within 30
days of the court of appeals opinion.
The review is for error on the record.
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* In the case of sales tax assessed as a deficiency, the taxpayer may pay the tax and file for a refund using the
procedures on the left side of this flow chart.

** The Nebraska Supreme Court may also remove appeals from the Nebraska Court of Appeals to its own docket.
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Refund, Protest, and Appeals Process

FINAL
A settlement stipulation is
entered into by both parties;
The taxpayer motion to
dismiss is granted; or
The Department takes action
on the refund claim.

Any taxpayer may initiate a
claim for refund (claim).

The Department initiates an audit of
sales tax, use tax, income tax, or

income tax withholding.
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This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on the Nebraska Department of Revenue (Department) until amended. A guidance document does 
not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the Department and does not impose additional requirements or 
penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you 
believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

This guidance document may change with updated information or added examples. The Department recommends you do not print this document. Instead, 
sign up for the subscription service at revenue.nebraska.gov to get updates on your topics of interest.




