
Nebraska Department of Revenue, PO Box 94818, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4818

Wage and Investment Levels for 
2017 Nebraska Advantage Act Applications

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on the Nebraska 
Department of Revenue (Department) until amended. A guidance document does 
not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations 
of the Department and does not impose additional requirements or penalties 
on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations 
made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this 
guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated 
parties, you may request a review of the document.

This guidance document may change with updated information or added examples. 
The Department recommends you do not print this document. Instead, sign up for 
the subscription service at revenue.nebraska.gov to get updates on your topics 
of interest.

Issue
What are the required wage and investment levels for Nebraska Advantage Act applications 
filed on or after January 1, 2017? 

Conclusion
Beginning with applications filed on or after January 1, 2017, an applicant must meet the 
following minimum wage and investment requirements to qualify for benefits under the 
Nebraska Advantage Act: 

•	 Tier 1 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $1 million, and an 
average annual wage requirement of $25,709 for at least 10 new employees;

•	 Tier 2 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $3 million, and an 
average annual wage requirement of $25,709 for 30 new employees;

•	 Tier 2 large data center applicants must meet an investment requirement of 
$200 million in qualified property at the data center, and an average annual wage 
requirement of $25,709 for 30 new employees at the data center;

•	 Tier 3 applicants must meet an average annual wage requirement of $25,709 for 
30 new employees;

•	 Tier 4 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $11 million, and an 
average annual wage requirement of $25,709 for 100 new employees;

•	 Tier 5 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $34 million; 
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Nebraska Advantage Act
	 Tier	 2016 Required Investment 	 2017 Required Investment

	 Tier 1	 $     1 million	 $	      1 million
	 Tier 2	 $     3 million	 $	      3 million
	 Tier 2 Large Data Center	 $	 200 million	 $	 200 million
	 Tier 4	 $	   12 million	 $	   11 million
	 Tier 5	 $	   36 million	 $	   34 million
	 Tier 5 Renewable Energy	 $	   20 million	 $	   20 million
	 Tier 6	 $	   10 million or	 $106 million	 $	   10 million or 	$100 million

	 Compensation	 2016 Required	 2017 Required
	 Credit	 Annual Wage Level	 Annual Wage Level

	 3%	 $ 24,711	 $ 25,709
	 4%	 $ 30,888	 $ 32,136
	 5%	 $ 41,184	 $ 42,848
	 6%	 $ 51,480	 $ 53,560
	 10%	 $ 61,776*	 $ 64,272*

*Tier 6 only, state-wide average. Wage levels for each county are available here. 

Nebraska Advantage Rural Development Act
	 2016 Required Wage Level 	 2017 Required Wage Level

	 $12.86 per hour	 $13.27 per hour

Nebraska Advantage Microenterprise Tax Credit Act
	 2016 Maximum Wage Paid	 2017 Maximum Wage Paid

	 $1,188 per week	 $1,236 per week	

APPROVED: 

Tony Fulton 
Tax Commissioner 
November 22, 2016

•	 Tier 5 renewable energy project applicants must meet an investment requirement 
of $20 million; and 

•	 Tier 6 applicants must meet an investment requirement of $10 million and an 
employment requirement of 75 new employees; or an investment requirement 
of $100 million and an employment requirement of 50 new employees. Tier  6 
applicants must also meet an average annual wage requirement of at least $64,272. 
Note: Wage requirements may vary based upon the counties where the project is 
located. See the attached table for the required annual wages for each county.



Required Annual Wages by County
for Tier 6 Applications Filed in 2012 through 2017

	 Adams	 $63,960	 $65,248	 $67,350	 $67,672	 $69,964 
	 Antelope	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $62,792
	 Arthur	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Banner	 $66,408	 $67,464	 $65,266	 $70,028	 $71,884
	 Blaine	 $55,986	 $58,186	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $69,684
	 Boone	 $56,960	 $59,258	 $61,138	 $63,504	 $65,330

	 Box Butte	  $60,490	 $63,942	 $63,920	 $66,004	 $67,648
	 Boyd	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Brown	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Buffalo	 $66,826	 $67,334	 $69,690	 $69,572	 $71,250
	 Burt	 $55,986	 $57,552	 $59,070	 $60,462	 $64,632
	 Butler	 $62,600	 $64,650	 $66,996	 $66,202	 $73,758

	 Cass	 $60,250	 $63,158	 $65,426	 $66,850	 $66,270
	 Cedar	 $56,522	 $60,758	 $62,438	 $62,340	 $64,186
	 Chase	 $59,234	 $62,440	 $63,888	 $65,502	 $67,676

	 Cherry	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Cheyenne	 $81,652	 $85,890	 $99,376	 $103,758	 $105,188
	 Clay	 $66,244	 $68,362	 $70,964	 $72,590	 $73,016

	 Colfax	 $63,774	 $64,930	 $66,738	 $70,162	 $69,722
	 Cuming	 $59,364	 $64,306	 $65,598	 $67,680	 $69,302
	 Custer	 $58,786	 $60,514	 $63,234	 $66,646	 $69,506

	 Dakota	 $70,126	 $69,882	 $70,344	 $72,854	 $77,464
	 Dawes	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Dawson	 $61,390	 $63,166	 $64,222	 $65,010	 $66,706

	 Deuel	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Dixon	 $58,482	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $61,064	 $69,004
	 Dodge	 $64,924	 $63,766	 $64,444	 $66,522	 $68,790

	 Douglas	 $86,416	 $88,082	 $90,104	 $91,490	 $93,580
	 Dundy	 $60,044	 $62,936	 $63,624	 $71,572	 $65,952
	 Fillmore	 $58,114	 $60,520	 $64,596	 $67,066	 $69,874

	 Franklin	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Frontier	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $62,820
	 Furnas	 $57,240	 $59,412	 $61,712	 $62,406	 $65,388

	 Gage	 $58,488	 $60,510	 $61,668	 $63,326	 $66,004
	 Garden	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Garfield	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Gosper	 $58,048	 $57,906	 $61,044	 $60,882	 $64,238
	 Grant	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Greeley	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Hall	 $66,188	 $67,368	 $68,362	 $69,572	 $72,424
	 Hamilton	 $65,626	 $66,490	 $69,592	 $72,338	 $73,934
	 Harlan	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Hayes	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $60,308	 $61,776
	 Hitchcock	 $68,042	 $67,314	 $66,306	 $68,512	 $72,716
	 Holt	 $55,986	 $58,162	 $60.260	 $62,268	 $66,296

	 Hooker	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Howard	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Jefferson	 $55,986	 $58,884	 $59,218	 $59,948	 $62,890

	 Johnson	 $63,692	 $61,108	 $63,952	 $63,850	 $66,132
	 Kearney	 $57,288	 $57,604	 $61,860	 $64,496	 $67,600
	 Keith	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Keya Paha	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Kimball	 $57,774	 $60,450	 $73,464	 $76,626	 $81,136
	 Knox	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Lancaster	 $74,470	 $76,500	 $78,310	 $79,102	 $81,218
	 Lincoln	 $63,226	 $65,560	 $67,492	 $67,772	 $70,494
	 Logan	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

Required Annual Wages*

2012 2013 2014 2015
County

2016 2017

$71,722  
$64,966  
$64,272  

$74,210  
$64,272  
$66,680  

$69,012  
$64,272  
$64,362  

$75,036  
$66,886  
$76,332  

$70,000  
$66,100  
$68,022  

$64,272  
$100,482  

$74,882  

$73,156  
$72,836  
$71,806  

$77,698  
$64,272  
$69,056  

$64,272  
$64,918  
$71,144  

$98,184  
$72,512  
$72,872  

$64,272  
$65,816  
$66,310  

$67,982  
$64,272  
$64,272

$66,016  
$64,272  
$64,272  

$74,662  
$78,276  
$64,272  

$64,272  
$76,464  
$66,456  

$64,272  
$64,272  
$66,570  

$70,790  
$69,234  
$64,272  

$64,272  
$80,864  
$64,272  

$83,826  
$73,486  
$64,272  



	 Loup	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Madison	 $63,788	 $65,872	 $67,314	 $69,016	 $71,732
	 Mcpherson	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Merrick	 $56,246	 $59,558	 $62,250	 $65,662	 $67,802
	 Morrill	 $59,854	 $62,818	 $63,492	 $68,020	 $67,196
	 Nance	 $55,986	 $59,224	 $60,962	 $62,232	 $64,126

	 Nemaha	 $87,626	 $93,370	 $93,728	 $94,232	 $94,484
	 Nuckolls	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Otoe	 $61,678	 $63,210	 $64,278	 $65,664	 $68,316

	 Pawnee	 $56,852	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Perkins	 $65,930	 $68,210	 $70,394	 $73,638	 $74,530
	 Phelps	 $66,902	 $68,636	 $70,546	 $72,180	 $75,664

	 Pierce	 $55,986	 $57,868	 $60,504	 $61,630	 $65,292
	 Platte	 $67,612	 $69,810	 $70,622	 $72,490	 $75,730
	 Polk	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $60,672	 $61,528	 $63,276

	 Red Willow	 $58,504	 $61,312	 $63,054	 $63,564	 $65,568
	 Richardson	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Rock	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Saline	 $68,406	 $69,746	 $72,164	 $73,076	 $74,458
	 Sarpy	 $73,356	 $75,308	 $78,160	 $79,470	 $81,632
	 Saunders	 $55,992	 $57,810	 $60,570	 $62,110	 $64,544

	 Scotts Bluff	 $64,460	 $67,638	 $69,494	 $69,208	 $71,882
	 Seward	 $65,534	 $68,722	 $70,746	 $71,112	 $74,004
	 Sheridan	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776

	 Sherman	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Sioux	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Stanton	 $89,634	 $93,610	 $97,378	 $97,394	 $111,000

	 Thayer	 $61,056	 $64,966	 $69,754	 $72,300	 $71,382
	 Thomas	 $60,160	 $57,868	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $62,668
	 Thurston	 $71,042	 $74,770	 $76,636	 $76,728	 $79,784

	 Valley	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,880
	 Washington	 $88,244	 $93,524	 $96,098	 $101,238	 $97,684
	 Wayne	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $60,272	 $63,636

	 Webster	 $55,986	 $57,404	 $58,902	 $59,948	 $61,776
	 Wheeler	 $57,330	 $61,054	 $70,714	 $64,876	 $68,460
	 York	 $61,702	 $65,402	 $66,476	 $68,822	 $70,738

*The required compensation for a county is equal to the greater of: (a) 200% of the county 
average weekly wage; or (b) 150% of the state average weekly wage. If the project is located in 
more than one county, the higher county average weekly wage is used to determine the required 
compensation.
See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-5719.01. 

Source: Historical Employment and Wages in Nebraska, Nebraska Department of Labor.
See Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77‑5712.

Required Annual Wages* (continued)

2012 2013 2014 2015
County

2016 2017

$64,272  
$74,566  
$64,272  

$71,558  
$71,724  
$64,448  

$94,334  
$64,272  
$71,276  

$64,272  
$78,466  
$78,092  

$67,864  
$79,218  
$66,346  

$67,474  
$64,272  
$66,188  

$78,256  
$84,852  
$67,370  

$73,186  
$74,962  
$64,272  

$64,272  
$64,272  

$105,676  

$70,612  
$64,272  
$86,742  

$64,436  
$104,856  

$67,880  

$64,272  
$66,762  
$72,544  
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